Delta Epsilon Sigma

Delta Epsilon Sigma

Delta Epsilon Sigma is a national scholastic honor society for students, faculty and alumni of Catholic universities and colleges. This honor society recognizes students' scholarly accomplishments, fosters scholarly activity, and promotes an intellectual community within the university. Lewis University's Gamma Chi chapter, established in 1965, is the University’s first nationally chartered honor society.  It is one of over hundred chapters in the U.S.

In order for a student to become a member, he/she must have at least junior status, possess a minimum GPA of 3.5, and be nominated by at least three Delta Epsilon Sigma faculty members. Nominees are judged according to their avid pursuit of scholarship, demonstrated leadership potential, exceptional ethical standards, participation in student activities, and service to the community both on campus and in the surrounding region.

Benefits of Membership

Student members of Delta Epsilon Sigma become members of a national scholarly community that recognizes their academic achievements and character.

Other benefits include:

  • Life-long subscription to the Delta Epsilon Sigma Journal containing essays, scholarly articles, poetry and short stories by member of DES.

  • Opportunities to apply for $1000 scholarship competitions for study during their senior year and first year of graduate school.

  • Opportunity to participate in a national writing competition for a prize of $500.

Current Student Officers

  • Madeleine Rose Hoare, President
  • Nicole Ryan, Vice President

Lewis University's Delta Epsilon Sigma Chapter Moderators

  • Dr. Jennifer Buss, Department of Education
  • Dr. Judy Zito, Department of Psychology

Invisible line, width of the page