Inaugural honor society induction recognizes adult students

Lewis University holds inaugural Alpha Sigma Lambda National Honor Society induction

Published: June 7, 2012.

For the first time, Lewis University recently inducted students in the new Lambda Epsilon Delta Chapter of the Alpha Sigma Lambda National Honor Society. None of the inducted students have a grade point average lower than a 3.86. The chapter was established in January at Lewis University.

“We’re very pleased this nationally recognized prestigious credential will now be available to its high-achieving non-traditional students as validation of their hard work and academic accomplishments,” commented Dr. Walt Pearson, dean of the School for Professional and Continuing Education.

Inducted students include: Aaron Adams, Michael Amorella, Wendy Anderson, Leif Arvidson, Otoniel Avila Jr, Nancy Bearlund, Jospeh Beltz, Buffy Blanton, Sara Boehnke, Robin Boland, Chad Bouck, Paulette Bowens, John Buck, James Burdett, Michael Burton, Evangelina Bustamente, Dawn Caldwell, Lisa Caldwell, Marcia Campbell, Patricia Carter, LaToya Carter, Jennifer Casas, Karin Christensen, David Clonts, Carmen Coriano-Myers, Michael Cutright, Joyce Dawkins, Sarah Eberwein, Mary Fannin, Laurie Garland, Jonathan Gerrity, Nancy Guswiler, Max Hewlett, Laura Hutton, Wayne Hutton, Christopher Ihde, David Johnson, Joshua Jouza, Kimberly Jurani, Riki Kaelin, Rachelle Kennedy, Jason Kinnaman, Eugene Klimek, Debra Kopsky, Marina Kostyra, Stefan Kueller, Melissa Kyrk, Sherrill Lange, David Lausch, Danuta Lesnicki, Jill Long, Anthony Loris, David Lunsford, Jaime Marcial, Rebecca Mueller, Michael Ochs, Leticia Othon, Michele Parks, Shawn Phelan, Mary Pierson, Dawn Piper, Ellen Pyznarski, Ruth Quint, Michelle Robbins, William Rowe, Richard Rushing, Andrew Russell, Denise Salvino, Randall Schenck, Albert Sinram, Keilani Socrates, Gina Spino, JoEllen Steinberg, Joan Strainis, Terese Sullivan, Linda Thomas, Christopher Thurlby, Chad Turner, Angela Villanueva, Gordana Vujanovich, Doris Wallace, Michael Weed, Beth Weiland-Vitale, David Wichert, Ryan Wyse and Pedro Zapata.

To be eligible for nomination in the Lambda Epsilon Delta chapter of Alpha Sigma Lambda, a student must be at least 24 years of age; be a matriculated student seeking his/her first undergraduate degree; have completed a minimum of 32 credit hours at Lewis University; have at least 12 credit hours in liberal arts and sciences (these may include transfer hours); have achieved at least a 3.7 grade point average; rank among the top 20 percent of eligible students; and have junior or senior status (a minimum of 59 hours earned from all institutions). Membership is by invitation only.

The Greek letters, Lambda Epsilon Delta, hold special significance for the chapter. Lambda is for Lewis University’s Lasallian inspired heritage; Epsilon is for excellence in adult education; and Delta is for a diversity-rich student body.

Alpha Sigma Lambda National Honor Society was founded in 1946 by Dr. Rollin E. Posey, dean of University College of Northwestern University. Posey founded the society to recognize the special achievements and honor superior scholarship of adults who accomplish academic excellence while facing competing interests of family, community and work. Currently, there are over 300 institutional chartered chapters throughout the United States.

Lewis University is a Catholic university offering distinctive undergraduate and graduate programs to nearly 6,500 traditional and adult students. Lewis offers multiple campus locations, online degree programs, and a variety of formats that provide accessibility and convenience to a growing student population. Sponsored by the De La Salle Christian Brothers, Lewis prepares intellectually engaged, ethically grounded, globally connected, and socially responsible graduates. The ninth largest private not-for-profit university in Illinois, Lewis has been nationally recognized by The Princeton Review and U.S. News & World Report.

Related Links

Alumni    Aviation    College of Education and Social Sciences    College of Nursing and Health Sciences    Department of Communications    History    History Center   

Back To
News & Events