The Flyer wins first place for excellence from ASPA

Back to News and Events Home Page

The Flyer wins first place for excellence from ASPA

Published: May 9, 2013.

The print edition of The Flyer has continued its winning tradition by earning a first place award for excellence and an award for “best sports coverage” from the American Scholastic Press Association. This spring 2013 award marks the fourth consecutive time students’ efforts have received recognition by the College Point, New York education organization.

ASPA judges reviewed issues of the print edition and analyzed content, artwork, design, organization editing and creativity. They used a detailed rubric as a scoring tool to evaluate each area and awarded The Flyer 950 out of a possible 1,000 points. The maximum allotted points were allotted in the content and artwork categories.

A special category award for “best sports coverage” was presented to the sports editors for their ongoing efforts to provide quality and depth of reporting for readers. This year, Kevin Ryan, sports editor and Brian Neal, assistant sports editor, enhanced the section by including Great Lakes Valley Conference statistics for the array of Flyer sports, additional graphic elements and ongoing comprehensive coverage of both Flyer and Chicago teams.

According to the ASCA, The Flyer editors publish a newspaper which “shows the creativity and journalistic knowledge of editors, reporters, photographers, designers and adviser.”

“While The Flyer has earned a first place award from the ASPA in the past, this year’s award is especially meaningful,” said Lisa O’Toole, assistant professor of communication and adviser of the biweekly print edition. “This year’s overall score of 950 points is the highest the publication has earned from ASPA judges.”

The print editorial staff for the 2012 -2013 academic year consists of seventeen students: Lauren Pirc, Katie Esposito, Lauren Barnes, Anthony Lyen, Brent Sumner, Alex Veeneman, Angela Cotta, Ross Reed, Kevin Ryan, Brian Neal, Kendra Mills, Audrey Heiberger, Alyssa Bowers, Roslyn Summerville, Lauren Nieminski, Rachel Stella and Alyssa Cicero.

The Flyer reports news and provides a forum for the discussion of issues relevant to the Lewis University community through a biweekly print medium and its online counterpart Its editorial staff publishes the newspaper in a manner consistent with the Lasallian mission of Lewis University and the accepted norms of American journalism.

Lewis University is a Catholic university in the Lasallian tradition offering distinctive undergraduate and graduate programs to more than 6,500 traditional and adult students. Lewis offers multiple campus locations, online degree programs, and a variety of formats that provide accessibility and convenience to a growing student population. Sponsored by the De La Salle Christian Brothers, Lewis prepares intellectually engaged, ethically grounded, globally connected, and socially responsible graduates. The seventh largest private not-for-profit university in Illinois, Lewis has been nationally recognized by The Princeton Review and U.S. News & World Report.

Related Links
Alumni    Department of Communications   

Social Media

Follow Lewis University


Leave a Comment

Comments submitted to are posted to the News and Events article with name that is submitted. Lewis University reserves the right to delete comments. Offensive language, personal attacks or irrelevant comments may be deleted/and or not posted. Comments will not appear immediately. Thank you for your patience.



Security Password (Please type the word ):


To News & Events