Culture of Inquiry

Welcome to the Culture of Inquiry website. This site describes the Lewis University Faculty Scholar and Caterpillar Scholar Awards, how to apply for these Awards, and the review process used to evaluate applications. Any questions should be referred to Dr. Mallory Havens, Chair of the Culture of Inquiry Coordinating Committee.

The Lewis University Faculty Scholar Award provides three credit hours of reassignment time for one semester.

The Caterpillar Scholar Award provides up to $ 6,000 for The purchase of supplies, equipment, or to purchase reassignment time for projects in the STEM areas (Science, Technology, Engineering or Mathematics). This award is designated for one academic year.
  • Up to three awards of six credit hour course work release, to be used within one academic year, may be provided per year.
  • One Caterpillar Scholar Award may be awarded per year.
  • All full-time faculty at Lewis University are eligible to apply.
Faculty Scholar and Caterpillar Scholar Application Timeline; 2020/2021 Awards.
  • Letters of intent due: September 13, 2021
  • Invited proposals due: November 11, 2021
  • Funding decisions communicated: December 2021