Groups and Committees of OCEL

At Lewis, students, staff and faculty are engaged with the community in a variety of ways through and outside of the curriculum. In keeping with our Lasallian mission, several University offices collaborate with community representatives to support the growth of community engagement at Lewis University across different groups. These groups include the following:

Community Engagement Cooperative (CEC)

To coordinate community engagement efforts and events, the Community Engagement Cooperative (CEC) works to implement Lewis University’s Civic Action Plan, in addition to addressing specific topics such as assessment, risk management, developing community partnerships, and celebrating community partner organizations. Through cross-campus cooperation, the CEC strengthens experiential learning, promotes effective and efficient partnerships with community sites, reduces duplication of efforts, and fosters enhanced communication. CEC members include  faculty members from each of the five colleges, along with University offices, including:

  • Alumni Engagement
  • Athletics
  • Career Services
  • Center for Community Research and Education (CCRE) – College of Education and Social Sciences
  • Community Engaged Learning
  • Mission and Identity
  • Student Activities
  • Sustainability
  • University Ministry

Community Engaged Learning Team (CELT)

The Community Engaged Learning Team is a group of faculty and staff who serve in an advisory capacity to the Office of Community Engaged Learning (OCEL). The group gathers regularly to provide guidance about office initiatives, stay up-to-date on related resources so members can report back to their respective colleges, and review courses for Community Engaged Learning (CEL) designation. The advisory team members include the following:

  • Dr. Christie Billups, College of Humanities, Fine Arts, and Communications; Theology
  • Dr. Jennifer Buss, College of Education and Social Sciences; Special Education
  • Dr. Michael Lewis, College of Aviation, Science, and Technology; Computer Science
  • Dr. Lorri McMeel, College of Education and Social Sciences; Social Work
  • Dr. Nanci Reiland, College of Nursing and Health Sciences; Nursing
  • Dr. Kurt Schackmuth, Office of Mission & Identity (ex officio)
  • Dr. Emily Shayman, College of Education and Social Sciences; Social Work and OCEL
  • Laura Wilmarth Tyna, Director of Community Engaged Learning (Chair)

Community Partner Advisory Board (CPAB)

Throughout the history of the institution, Lewis University staff and faculty have leaned upon our community partners to provide guidance, advice, and expertise about how the institution can engage most effectively in the community. In an effort to more deeply engage partners, Lewis University convened a formal Community Partner Advisory Board (CPAB). The group, which meets three times a year, serves as a “working partner in building [Lewis] University’s curricular and co-curricular community engagement activities by representing the voice of the community.”

Members include representatives from organizations which are regionally relevant, serve a diverse array of needs (e.g., youth development and education, community health, food justice, creating safe communities), and partners which serve the Will County and Joliet region. These members of CPAB include the following:

Invisible line, width of the page