Celebration of Association 2017

Celebration of Association

Lewis University's Annual Recognition of Mission Commitment, Academic Excellence and Lasallian Service

A Celebration of Association is a month-long series of events and activities which recognize and honor the commitment of Lewis University employees and students in the spirit of our Catholic and Lasallian Mission, as well as the core elements of our rich tradition as a Catholic and Lasallian institution of higher education - our Catholic identity, academic excellence, faculty and student scholarship, calling, and service to others and the Lewis community.

Schedule of Activities

Presidential Inauguration
Student Recreation and Fitness Center Fieldhouse
Dr. David J. Livingston will be formally installed as the 10th President of Lewis University on Friday, April 7, 2017, the Feast of Saint John Baptist de La Salle. The schedule for the day includes the following events, which are open to all members of the University Community.

  • Mass of Thanksgiving: 1:00 – 2:15 p.m.
  • Installation Ceremony: 3:00 – 4:30 p.m.
  • Reception: 4:30 p.m.
Community Easter Egg Hunt   

University Green, 9:00 – 11:00 a.m. (Rain or Shine)
An event designed for the Romeoville/Will County Community as well as Lewis University faculty, staff and their families, this event will feature an Easter egg hunt and egg decorating event, as well as photos with the Easter bunny, a petting zoo, inflatables, and art activities. Sponsored by the Student Senate, recognized student organizations and the Office of Student Development and Leadership. For additional information, please visit: www.lewisu.edu/easteregghunt


President’s Reception for Student Employees and 24th Annual Student Employee of the Year Awards Presentation
Sancta Alberta Chapel, 3:00 p.m. (Reception); 3:30 p.m. (Recognition Ceremony)
The President will recognize the accomplishments of student employees during this special afternoon reception at 3:30 p.m. One very deserving student will be honored with the Student Employee of the Year award during the 4:00 p.m. recognition ceremony.


6th Annual Celebration of Scholarship: Discovering Your Pathway to Excellence
Lewis University will celebrate the scholarly accomplishments of graduate students, undergraduate students, and faculty in this event showcasing their work. Presentations by faculty and students representing dozens of disciplines will take place throughout the day at a variety of venues across campus. Please visit www.lewisu.edu/COS for additional information about the Celebration of Scholarship.


Sanctified Zone 20th Anniversary Rededication Ceremony
D’Arcy Great Room, 1:00 p.m.
Join members of the Diversity Engagement Committee (DEC) and faculty, staff and students from around the University to commemorate the 20th Anniversary of the Lewis University as a Sanctified Zone – A People and A Place Committed to Diversity and Inclusion.

12th Annual “Together for Mission” Reception
La Salle House, 5:00 p.m.
Approximately 50 current participants or graduates of the Buttimer Institute of Lasallian Studies, the Lasallian Leadership Institute, the John Johnston Institute, and the International Lasallian University Leadership Program will attend this annual reception hosted by the LaSalle House community of Christian Brothers.

29th Annual Brother David Delahanty Student Athlete Awards
St. Charles Borromeo Convocation Hall, 7:00 p.m.
Scholar-athletes will be recognized for their significant academic accomplishments at this special ceremony. These prestigious awards are presented in memory of Brother David Delahanty, FSC, President of Lewis University from 1981-1987.  


Brother James Gaffney, FSC Student Center Groundbreaking Ceremony  
Greenspace Between De La Salle Hall and South Hall, 4:00 p.m.
Members of the Lewis University Community are invited to witness the groundbreaking for the new Brother James Gaffney, FSC Student Center. Join Dr. Livingston, Brother James, Members of the Board of Trustees, Administration and students for this special event to recognize Brother James for his years of service as President and his commitment to students.


25th Annual “A Celebration of Service” Recognition Ceremony
St. Charles Borromeo Convocation Hall, 3:00 p.m.
A highlight of the month, A Celebration of Service will feature an opening prayer service, the recognition of employee service anniversaries, retirements, and the presentation of several prestigious Lasallian awards.


Society of Lasallian Collegians Induction Ceremony
Sancta Alberta Chapel, 8:00 p.m.
During this special liturgy, a select group of dedicated students will be inducted into the Society of Lasallian Collegians, an honorary association of outstanding individuals who have demonstrated a remarkable commitment to the integration of their faith with generous service.


National Religious Brothers Day Celebration  
Lewis University will participate in the National Religious Brothers Day Celebration sponsored by the Conference of Major Superiors of Men (CMSM). The Celebration coincides with the feast of St. Joseph the Worker. Additional details about Lewis University’s commemoration of this special day will be forthcoming.

9th Annual “This I Believe” Essay Presentations
D’Arcy Great Room, 2:00 p.m.
Join students and others for the University’s annual public recitation of “This I Believe” essays, which describe the core values that animate the life and work of these individuals. This event is sponsored by the Writing Center and the DISCOVER Initiative.


21st Annual President’s Recognition of Student Volunteers
University Dining Room, 5:00 p.m.
The President will honor several dozen student volunteers for their generous commitment to others both on-campus and in the community. Two students will also receive the prestigious De La Salle Medallion for Exemplary Volunteer Service in recognition of their outstanding service efforts.