Service Opportunities

SOL (Source of Light) - Local Service Opportunities
Sign Up! For Service Opportunities.

We are all called by God to serve our sisters and brothers who may be poor, hungry, or lonely. We are also called to share our gifts and blessings through meaningful service that reflects our faith. Dates and times vary throughout the semester and are listed below. All transportation is provided. 

FEED THE HUNGRY

MorningStar Mission
Serve a meal to those in Joliet who are hungry. Transportation is provided, but volunteers must sign up ahead of time. 
3:30pm- 6:30pm (including travel)

  • Thursday, February 15
  • Wednesday, February 28
  • Thursday, March 15
  • Wednesday, April 11
  • Thursday, April 26

Feed My Starving Children
Help end world hunger with this non-profit Christian organization that provides food for hungry people worldwide. 
5pm-8pm (including travel)

  • Wednesday, February 14
  • Thursday, February 22
  • Thursday, March 22
  • Monday, March 26
  • Monday, April 9
  • Thursday, April 19
  • Wednesday, May 2
MENTOR CHILDREN

Community Lifeline Ministries
Sons of Thunder
Spend some time hanging out / playing games / mentoring children ages 8-18 (particularly boys) in Joliet!
5:45pm- 7:45pm

  • Tuesday, February 13
  • Tuesday, February 20
  • Tuesday, February 27
  • Tuesday, March 13
  • Tuesday, March 20
  • Tuesday, March 27
  • Tuesday, April 10
  • Tuesday, April 17
  • Tuesday, April 24
SERVE THE ELDERLY

Our Lady of Angels
Spend time with the elderly by joining in activities at this retirement home. 
1pm- 4pm(including travel)

  • Sunday, February 11
  • Sunday, March 25
  • Sunday, April 22
OTHER ONE TIME EVENTS
  • Date: Late February - Early March: Easter Baskets - Adopt an “Easter Egg” to provide an Easter basket filled with candy, games, books, toys, etc. for a child through MorningStar Mission.

    **If interested, please email Jake DeMarais, Coordinator of Ministry Service jdemarais@lewisu.edu for more information.