May 14th, 2014 | By | Category: Archive

On Sunday, April 27, 2014, Lewis University’s Lambda Epsilon Delta chapter of Alpha Sigma Lambda Honor Society held its third annual induction ceremony at the St. Charles Borromeo Center to honor the exceptional academic accomplishments of its high-achieving adult students.

Alpha Sigma Lambda was originally founded in 1946 by Dr. Rollin E. Posey, Dean of University College of Northwestern University, to recognize and honor superior scholarship of adults who accomplish academic excellence while trying to fulfill their many commitments to family, community, and work.  Today, Alpha Sigma Lambda is the oldest and largest chapter-based honor society for adult students with chapters at over 300 colleges and universities throughout the United States.  Lewis University is proud to present this nationally recognized prestigious honor to recognize the valuable contributions non-traditional students make to the university’s diverse learning community.

To be considered for chapter membership, a student must meet the following requirements:  be at least 24 years of age; be a matriculated student seeking his/her first undergraduate degree; have completed a minimum of 32 credit hours at Lewis University; have at least 12 credit hours in liberal arts; have achieved at least a 3.700 grade point average; have junior or senior status; and rank among the top 20% of eligible students.

This year, a total of 53 students accepted membership in Alpha Sigma Lambda; a total of 26 students were able to attend the ceremony.  The adult student inductees represented 18 majors from all four colleges; were daytime, evening, main campus, regional campus, and online students; and eight students were from our campus in Albuquerque, New Mexico.  Every student inductee had a GPA within the range of 3.768 – 4.000.

The program included: the Introduction delivered by Bernadette Valderrama, Chapter Councilor; the Invocation given by Dr. Lesley Fisher, Assistant Professor in the College of Arts and Sciences; the Welcome delivered by Br. James Gaffney, Lewis University President; the Keynote Address delivered by Dr. Michele Young, Dean of the School for Professional and Continuing Education; and the Closing Prayer given by Dr. Mary Fisher, Assistant Professor in the College of Education.  After the certificates were presented, a standing ovation was bestowed on all the inductees.  The newly inducted members walked out to a resplendent recessional to The Trumpet Voluntary and joined family, friends, and faculty for a reception of light refreshments and fellowship.

Adult students inducted into the honor society included: Stephanie Adams; Kenneth Balich; Gerald Bell, Jr.; Jason Bjork; Donald Carlson; Ashely Castelo-Schissler; Santos Chaparro; Maricela Chavez; Joseph Cima; Princess Coker; Patrick Dalton; Dominic DeCosmo; Deborah Demetrakis; Emily Eaton; Teresa Faris; Ryan Foley; William Foreback; Janet Fuson; Amanda Halley; Deborah Halley; Ashley Heckler; Anselmo Hernandez; Jr., David Hill; Peter Holland; Jaimie Hughes; David Korte; Latasha Landers; Terese LaRocco; Pamela Lindemann; Carlos Mariscal;  Diana Mattix; Craig Meo II;  Alma Montero; Carolyn Mulligan; Candice Noel; Nicole Olson; Carla Pezzopane; Patti Purri; Rhonda Richter; Rommel Rosales; Amber Ruiz; Matthew Rush; Steven Schury; Carol Sena; Paulina Skudlarz; Ashley Smith; Vickie St. Germain; Evangeline Valdez-Corpuz; Dorothy Wash; Raymond Wilbert; Donnie Williams; Achkei Wilson; Stephanie Witz.

[Story contributed by: Bernadette Valderrama, Chapter Councilor]


ASL 2014 Inductees












The photo above features students in attendance at the Alpha Sigma Lambda induction ceremony:

 Third Row (Top) (left to right): Vickie St. Germain; Gerald Bell, Jr.; Ray Wilbert; Donnie Williams; David Korte; William Foreback; David Hill

Second Row (left to right):  Ashley Smith; Diana Mattix; Carolyn Mulligan; Nicole Olson; Patti Purri; Dorothy Wash;  Deborah Halley; Amanda Halley; Janet Fuson

First Row (Bottom) (left to right):  Princess Coker; Evangeline Valdez-Corpuz; Achkei Wilson; Pamela Lindemann; Alma Montero; Ashley Heckler; Anselmo Hernandez, Jr.; Jamie Hughes; Emily Eaton; Deborah Dematrakis

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Comment

eight × 9 =