Knowledge Bases

In addition to working with colleagues within the unit, across the campus and in the P-12 community off-campus in order to remain actively linked with the ever-changing knowledge base of practice, the work of eight key scholars is focal in affirming the work of unit faculty and candidates.

Although our knowledge base is supported by the work of multiple scholars and educators—James A. Banks, St. John Baptist de la Salle, John Dewey, Paulo Freire, and Lev Vygotsky—affirm our foundational underpinnings at the initial and advanced programmatic levels. In addition, the ideas and philosophies of three scholars—Gail Furman, Thomas Sergiovanni, and Robert Starratt—affirm our overriding mission of developing an ethic of community and are more applicable to the work of candidates at the advanced level.